The ESC Board 2020–2022

Cardiovasc Med. 2020;23:w02121

Published on 29.08.2020

The European Society of Cardiology (ESC) is one of the largest professional societies in medicine. Indeed, it currently has over 100,000 members from 57 countries, , 7 ESC Associations and 15 ESC working groups and for its major educational programmes, such as the Annual ESC Congress, and the congresses of the ESC associations, it is able to welcome thousands of attendees. Its journals are widely read and amongst the best in their field. The ESC Guidelines are downloaded several hundred thousand times a year and are highly cited in the medical literature. Finally, in 2019, the ESC Textbook of Cardiovascular Medicine was named as the best textbook in cardiology by the British Medical Association and enjoys a large number of visits on its electronic platform: ESC CardioMed.
Such a huge society requires an effective board, as well as a competent management committee, to manage all its activities and assure proper governance and financing. To that end, every two years new positions are announced and candidates are eventually selected by the ESC Nomination Committee, chaired by the past president. Eventually, the candidates selected have to face elections, whereby all national societies, ESC Associations and ESC Working Groups have a number of votes according to their size and importance.
The ESC Nominations Committee of the ESC Board 2020–2022 was chaired by the past ESC President, Professor Jeroen Bax from Leiden University in the Netherlands, and met in January 2020. After the call for elections in November 2019, a number of candidates applied, and eventually the ESC Nominations Committee selected two candidates each for President Elect and Secretary/Treasurer as well as five candidates for the three positions of Vice-President. Finally, for the six councillor positions, twelve candidates were selected.
The elections of the constituent bodies of the European Society of Cardiology took place in June this year and, after the votes were counted, the new board 2020–2022 has been voted in (fig. 1 and 2).
Figure 1
Result of the elections.
Figure 2
The new board of the European Society of Cardiology.
As such, the ESC Management Committee, which is primarily responsible for the operation of the ESC, will consist of the new President (elected in 2018), Professor Stephan Achenbach from Erlangen University, Germany, the Past President, Professor Barbara Casadei from Oxford University, UK and the new President-Elect, Professor Franz Weidinger from Vienna, Austria, together with the Secretary/Treasurer, Professor Thomas F. Lüscher from Imperial College London, UK and the University of Zurich, Switzerland, as well as three Vice-Presidents, namely Professor Francesco Cosentino from Karolinska University in Stockholm, Sweden (an alumnus of the University of Zurich), Professor Sylvia Priori from Pavia University, Italy and Petr Seferovic from Belgrade, Serbia.
It remains the privilege of the incoming ESC President to nominate a number of individuals for special tasks within his board, which will be presented after the online ESC Congress 2020, which will take place on 29 August to 2 September 2020.
Correspondence:, Professor Thomas F. Lüscher, Zurich Heart House, Hottingerstrasse 14, CH-8008 Zurich, cardio[at]