Thomas F. Lüscher received the Mayo Clinical Distinguished Alumni Award 2012

The Mayo Clinic origins date back to 1863 when Dr William Worrall Mayo settled in Rochester and started his medical practice. His son, Dr William James Mayo, joined him in 1883 and his other son, Dr Charles Horace Mayo, in 1888. Thus began the group practice that is currently one of the most distinguished medical institutions worldwide. Indeed, the Mayo Clinic receives patients from all over the world and currently employs more than 55,000 physicians, nurses, scientists, students and allied health staff in three locations in the USA. The main campus is in Rochester, Minnesota, USA, with additional sites in Jacksonville, Florida and Scottsdale, Arizona. The Mayo Clinic Board of Trustees established the Mayo Clinic Distinguished Alumni Award in 1981 to acknowledge and show appreciation for the exceptional contribution of Mayo Alumni in medicine including medical practice, research, education and administration. Individuals who have received the award have been recognised nationally and often internationally in their fields.

The Mayo Alumni association has over 23,000 members of which every year two to four are selected. Thomas F. Lüscher is the seventh non-US alumnus



The winners of the Mayo Distinguished Alumni Award 2012 at the Mayo Foundation House in Rochester, Minnesoa (from left to right): Thomas Lüscher, University Hospital Zurch, Cornelia M. Weyand, MD, Stanford University Medical Center, and Eugene P. Di Magno MD and Robert G. Siekert MD, both Mayo Clinic.

to receive this prestigious award for his major contribution in cardiovascular medicine. Other well-known cardiovascular physicians and scientists who have received this award in the past include Sheldon G. Sheps, Robert Frye, Paul M. Vanhoutte, Kai Rehder, John T. Shepherd, John W. Kirklin and Dwight C. McGoom.

The 2012 award ceremony took place at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota USA, on 8 October 2012.